Skip to content

Memorial Day

May 28, 2012

Jeni Decker and I both support the troops who are not only currently serving – shout out to SPC Brad Dorroh in Afghanistan, but who have served in the past. I grew up in a military family. My uncle and cousins served in World War II, Viet Nam, the Gulf War and Afghanistan. A few years ago, I wrote a story about the Greatest Generation and wanted to share it this Memorial Day.

My cousin Doak served in Viet Nam and he owns that jeep!

My cousin Donnie served in Desert Storm. Here he is back in the desert at age 60 serving in Afghanistan.

Uncle Jimmy served in WW II and Viet Nam. Photo of first date with Aunt Billie at USO dance.

The War
By Kat Nove

My Uncle Jimmy is a soft spoken man. I once heard him call a woman who cut him off in traffic in Los Angeles a heifer and it shocked me. That was the closest I’d ever heard him come to cursing. This is the same man who was a crew member on a B-17 bomber in 50 missions during World War II.

I thought about him tonight as I watched the first two hours and twenty minutes of Ken Burns’ PBS documentary The War. It’s fascinating viewing, with brutal war footage I’ve never seen.

I imagine most Americans passed up the opportunity to see a glimpse into an important chapter in world history. Why bother with stories about the Bataan Death March, the battle for Guadalcanal, D-Day, American citizens of Japanese descent being sent to internment camps, segregation of black service men, or an entire country buying war bonds, when you can catch up on Britney’s latest antics?

I think I’ll stick around for the remaining five episodes of The War. It’s not much, but it’s the least I can do for the few remaining men and women around the world who sacrificed so much so I could grow up to be an outspoken smartass.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brad permalink
    May 28, 2012 10:10 pm

    Awesome, Always love reading you guys’ posts. Can’t wait to get home and hopefully have a few beers with y’all. 😀

Leave a Reply

